Archives also provides the services and facilities needed to make these records accessible to the public across Canada.

Minister responsible:

Minister of Communications.

Public Service Commission

Head office L'Esplanade Laurier, West Tower 300 Laurier Avenue West Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0M7

Regional and district offices: Whitehorse, Yellowknife, Vancouver, Edmonton, Regina, Winnipeg, Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal, Quebec (Sillery), Moncton, Halifax, Charlottetown, St. John's.

Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 996-5010.

The Commission is the staffing arm of the federal public service. It handles a variety of matters, including appeal decisions and staff training.

Minister responsible:

Secretary of State

Public Service Staff Relations Board

C.D. Howe Building West Tower, 6th Floor 240 Sparks Street (PO Box 1525, Station B) Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5V2 Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 990-1800.

The Board administers the Public Service Staff Relations Act, which governs collective bargaining, the grievance process, and the adjudication procedure for the federal public service.

Minister responsible:

President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada

Public Works Canada

Head office Sir Charles Tupper Building Confederation Heights Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0M2

Regional offices: Vancouver, Edmonton, Toronto (Willowdale), Hull, Montreal, Halifax.

Field offices: throughout Canada.

Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 998-7724.

The department is responsible for the management of the public works of Canada and the federal real

estate properties. The Minister of Public Works is also responsible for the Canada Museums Construction Corporation.

Minister responsible:

Minister of Public Works

Department of Regional Industrial Expansion

Head office

C.D. Howe Building

235 Queen Street

Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H5

Regional offices: Whitehorse, Yellowknife, Vancouver, Edmonton, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Toronto, Montreal, Moncton, Halifax, Charlottetown, St. John's.

Local offices: throughout Canada.

Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 995-8900.

DRIE's mandate is to increase economic prosperity by promoting productive investments in industrial development and renewal in all regions of Canada and in particular in the economically less-privileged parts of the country. It encourages investment in viable industrial undertakings in manufacturing, resource processing and related service industries, tourism, and small business.

Ministers responsible:

Minister of Regional Industrial Expansion Minister of State for Small Businesses and Tourism

Revenue Canada, Customs and Excise

Head office

Connaught Building

Mackenzie Avenue

Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0L5

Regional offices: Customs - Vancouver, Calgary, Winnipeg, Windsor, Hamilton, Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal, Ouebec, Halifax; Excise — Vancouver. Calgary, Winnipeg, London, Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal, Quebec, Halifax.

Other offices, including district and customs offices: throughout Canada.

Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 957-0275.

Customs and Excise is responsible for assessing and collecting duties and taxes on imported and domestically produced goods, as well as on the transportation of persons by air. It controls the international movement of persons and goods, and provides Canadian industry with the protection to which it is entitled under the customs laws. The Customs Act, the Customs Tariff, the Special Import Measures Act, the Excise Act and the Excise